My First Travel Agent Experience

I told you what prompted me to use a travel agent exclusively in my last blog post but I actually had used a travel agency prior to that disastrous airfare that I had to cancel. This happened before I even knew about Anywhere But Here Travel. I used the travel agency that is affiliated with my timeshare and it was an okay experience for me but they never made me feel like I was important like ABHT did for me. I guess I might still be using them if they did!

IMG_5041

This is just half of our group enjoying a traditional Hawaiian luau.

The year was 2010 and my best friend and I decided it would be fun to take a joint family vacation together to Maui. I arranged for the place to stay through our timeshare and she arranged for our mutual babysitter/nanny to join us. This meant we needed 9 plane tickets to be booked together with seating together if possible too. This was beyond what the online booking website could handle so thankfully the travel agency was a quick phone call away. We were also able to split the payment between the two families which made it nice as well. It was a fabulous vacation and one we will remember for many years to come.

IMG_5214

Both families and our nanny enjoying some shaved ice. YUM!

What was your first experience using a travel agent?

~Monica Hubinette~

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “My First Travel Agent Experience

  1. Colleen Rutherford

    This was a great trip! One that I am already counting down the days to repeat again!! But I remember us on hold with the travel agent from the timeshare for what seemed like hours!! You were still at the old house, kids were so much younger, that someone (don’t remember who,) was napping and we were trying to figure out each of the many details that taking 9 people to Maui incurred! CRAZY TIMES!!! Mostly, I remember the sunsets and fun times we had surfing!! My arms are still sore!!!!!

    Like

    • You have a better memory of calling that travel agent than I do! I forgot about the time we spent on hold. I only remember that it was out of necessity to use them and it wasn’t the greatest experience. I know I will do a better job when we go again in Dec 2016!

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.